top of page

The ACCL holds an annual competition for the best work (Bachelor or Master thesis) written at a Swiss university in the fields  Antitrust Law and Competition Economics  and honors them with the ACCL Bachelor Award and the ACCL Master Award. With this, the ACCL wants to make a contribution to the promotion of young talent and to the connection between teaching and practice in the field of antitrust law and competition economics.



Prof. Dr. Blaise Carron, LL.M. (UNINE)


Dr. Jürg Borer (Borer Lawyers)

Prof. Dr. Simon Evenett (UNISG)

Prof. Dr. Jens Lehne (ZHAW)

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Minsch (economiesuisse)

Dr. Olivier Schaller, LL.M. (WEKO)


Dr. Daniel Schiess (WEKO)


Bachelor and master theses in the field of competition economics and antitrust law that stand out both scientifically and through their practical relevance are permitted. The work must have been successfully submitted to a technical college or university in 2022 in order to be considered for the ACCL Award. Only one Bachelor or Master thesis is permitted per author.


15th October 2022

Call for papers

Evaluation & prices

The evaluation is carried out by a jury made up of experts in antitrust law and competition economics. As a rule, the awarding of the prizes requires that at least ten Bachelor and Master theses have been submitted by the deadline.

The ACCL awards in cooperation  AGON Partners the following prizes for the best Bachelor and Master theses:

ACCL Bachelor Award :

Free participation in six Compliance in Excellence events (equivalent to around CHF 1,000)

Free ACCL membership for 2 years

ACCL Master Award :

Free participation in the CAS International Competition Law and Compliance  (Equivalent of approx. CHF 4500)

Free ACCL membership for 2 years

The award usually takes place at the beginning of the autumn semester. The award-winning Bachelor and Master theses will be briefly presented by the authors on the occasion of the award.

Award-winning work

ACCL Master Award

2021: Monika Abt
Die Geltung von "nemo tenetur" im kartellverwaltungsrechtlichen Sanktionsverfahren


2021: Johann-Jakob Chervet

BGer 2C_149 / 2018 - das Schicksal der unverbindlichen Preisempfehlung

2018: Roman Zeller,  University of Zurich

The use of IT systems as a coordinated behavior

2017: Reto Schneider, Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW)

Antitrust admissibility of working groups (ARGE)

2016: Reto Ragettli, University of Basel

The guarantees of Art. 6 ECHR in the voluntary disclosure procedure in cartel law - taking into account European and German cartel law

2015: Martin Reimann, University of Basel

Cartel fines similar to criminal law in accordance with Art. 49a Para. 1 KG

2014: Michel Jutzeler, University of Basel
Procedural problems of sanctions in antitrust law: Antitrust law in the light of the ECHR

ACCL Bachelor Award

2017: Céline Spahn, University of Zurich

The admissibility of purchasing groups under Swiss and European antitrust law

2014: Flavio von Rickenbach, University of Bern
Restriction of competition through the non-competition clause: A theoretical consideration

bottom of page